EMIM 2020 Plenary Speakers

according to appearance in the programme

ESMI Award Winner 2020

On behalf of the Board and the Award Selection Committee, it is with pleasure to announce the ESMI Award Winner 2020: we are proud and honoured to present the Award to SANJIV SAM GAMBHIR.

The Committee recognises Sam as one of the founding fathers of the field in which we all have the privilege to work. He has been a pioneer and visionary, a mentor and inspiration – thanks for your continuous and passionate dedication for imaging science.

We are very much looking forward to his Plenary Lecture within the scope of the upcoming EMIM 2020.


Vasilis Ntziachristos

"Optical and Optoacoustic imaging: the revolution of label free observations"


Professor and Chair for Biological Imaging

Director, Institute for Biological and Medical Imaging
Director of Bioengineering, Helmholtz Pioneer Campus

Technische Universität München & Helmholtz Zentrum München

School of Medicine and School of Electrical Engineering

Read more about Vasilis' work


Dara Kraitchman

"Stem Cells and Embolics: Is seeing where you are and have been important?"


Director, Center for Image-Guided Animal Therapy

Cardiovascular Interventional Section Head

Division of MR Research

Russell H Morgan Department of Radiology and Radiological Science

Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore

Read more about Dara's work


Mikhail G. Shapiro

"Talking to Cells: Biomolecular Engineering for Non-Invasive Imaging and Control of Cellular Function"


Professor of Chemical Engineering

Investigator, Heritage Medical Research Institute

California Institute of Technology

Read more about Mikhail's work

ANNE RIOS, Utrecht

Anne Rios

"Investigating the Cellular Dynamics of Organ Development and Cancer using 3D Imaging"


PI and Group Leader

Advanced Imaging of Pediatric Cancer

at Princess Máxima Center Pediatric Oncology

Read more about Anne's work