ESMI Governing Bodies

  • The Governing Board consists of the Executive Committee and the elected Council members
  • The ESMI Executive Committee consists of the ESMI President, Vice President, Secretary, the Treasurer, and the Past President.
  • The ESMI Council members are elected by the members of the ESMI. Term in office is two years.
  • The General Assembly consists of all members of the ESMI with voting rights.

Change in Leadership Spring 2021

On 26th March, Frauke Alves handed over the Presidency to Hervé Boutin. Hervé served one period as Vice President and starts now his term in office as President of the ESMI.

A special and cordial THANKS to Giannis Zacharakis who rotates out of the Executive Committee: it was a quite tough time in office with difficult decisions to take including a no-in-person annual meeting in 2020.

A warm welcome to Michal Neeman who joins the Committee as Vice President. Michal will take over the Presidency from Hervé after the EMIM 2022 in March in Thessaloniki.

After eight years as part of the Committee, Fabian Kiessling rotates out and hand-over his duties as Secretary to Jordi Llop. We are so grateful for your continious, tireless, and always valuable views and tremendously strong commitment to the field and the ESMI - THANKS FABIAN!

Bert Windhorst remains part of the Executive Committee as Treasurer.

Executive Committee

Portrait of Kevin Brindle

Hervé Boutin - President

Lecturer in neuroscience and neuroimaging at the University of Manchester, lead for preclinical brain imaging

Portrait of Kevin Brindle

Frauke Alves - Past President

Head of the interdisciplinary research group „Translational Molecular Imaging“

University Medical Center Goettingen and Max-Planck-Institute of Experimental Medicine in Goettingen

Portrait of Fabian Kiessling

Michal Neeman - Vice President (President Elect)

Professor in the Department of Biological Regulation, Faculty of Biology, Weizmann Institute of Science in Rehovot, Israel & Head of The Henry Chanoch Krenter Institute for Biomedical Imaging and Genomics at Weizmann Institute of Science

Portrait of Bert Windhorst

Albert D. Windhorst - Treasurer

Head radiopharmaceutical chemistry at the department of Nuclear Medicine & PET Research at VUMC Amsterdam, The Netherlands

To top

Jordi Llop - Secretary

Principal Investigator, Head of Radiochemistry and Nuclear Imaging Group, CIC biomaGUNE, San Sebastián, Spain