ESMI Governing Bodies

  • The Governing Board consists of the Executive Committee and the elected Council members
  • The ESMI Executive Committee consists of the ESMI President, Vice President, Secretary, the Treasurer, and the Past President.
  • The ESMI Council members are elected by the members of the ESMI. Term in office is two years.
  • The General Assembly consists of all members of the ESMI with voting rights.

Change in Leadership March 2020

On 27th March, Giannis Zacharakis handed over the Presidency to Frauke Alves. Frauke served one period as Vice President and starts now her term in office as President of the ESMI.

A special and cordial THANKS to Kevin Brindle who rotates out of the Executive Committee: we are very grateful for his commitment, his unbiased, rational, but always careful decisions and a wonderful annual meeting 2019 in Glasgow.

A warm welcome to Hervé Boutin who joins the Committee as Vice President. Hervé will take over the Presidency from Frauke after the EMIM 2021 in March in Gottingen.

Bert Windhorst remains part of the Executive Committee as Treasurer and Fabian Kiessling as Secretary – thanks a lot.

Executive Committee

Portrait of Kevin Brindle

Frauke Alves - President

Head of the interdisciplinary research group „Translational Molecular Imaging“

University Medical Center Goettingen and Max-Planck-Institute of Experimental Medicine in Goettingen

Portrait of Kevin Brindle

Hervé Boutin - Vice President (President Elect)

Lecturer in neuroscience and neuroimaging at the University of Manchester, lead for preclinical brain imaging

Portrait of Fabian Kiessling

Giannis Zacharakis - Past President

Principal Researcher (Research Associate Professor) and Director of the Optical Biomedical Imaging Lab at the Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser, Foundation for Research and Technology Laser Interactions and Photonics Division, FORTH – IESL in Heraklion, Crete

Portrait of Bert Windhorst

Albert D. Windhorst - Treasurer

Head radiopharmaceutical chemistry at the department of Nuclear Medicine & PET Research at VUMC Amsterdam, The Netherlands

To top

Portrait of Fabian Kiessling

Fabian Kiessling - Secretary

Chair of Experimental Molecular Imaging EXMI at the University of Aachen (RWTH)